Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

The Morgan State University Southern Maryland Alumni Chapter held its sixth annual blue and orange dinner dance on Sept. 10 at the Jaycees center in Waldorf.

Honorees were Darlene Barnes of St. Mary’s County, Charlene McMillian of Prince George’s County, and Jane Briscoe-Short and Reuben B. Collins II of Charles County. William Young of Charles County was named Alumnus of the Year.

The chapter was established on Oct. 16, 2004, and chartered at Morgan State University on May 14, 2005. Membership consists of regular members, associate members and honorary members. The chapter supports community programs such as the temporary shelter Safe Nights, food and clothing drives, adopt-a-road cleanup, health awareness and Morgan State University scholarship funding.

Meetings are held from 1 to 3 p.m. on the second Saturday of the month at the Courtyard by Marriott at 3145 Crain Highway in Waldorf.

Chapter officers are Vice President Dennis Barnes, President Thomas Datcher, Historian William Young, Treasurer Victor Watson, Chaplain Patricia Farmer, Financial Secretary Theresa Johnson and Recording Secretary Rochelle Savoy.

Call Datcher at 240-776-4216 or email