Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

On behalf of the Legislative Steering Committee of the Education Association of St. Mary’s County and the Collective Education Association of St. Mary’s County, we would like to announce our recommended candidates for the two board of education positions that will be contested in April and to describe our recommendation process for the public.

The EASMC and CEASMC steering committee sent out questionnaires to all announced candidates for St. Mary’s County Board of Education who were running in a contested primary election. Candidates who do not have a primary election will receive their questionnaires at a later date. Following the receipt of their completed questionnaire, the legislative steering committee held interviews with each candidate. Following all of the interviews, the committee decided which candidates best meet our selection criteria.

The committee then forwarded its recommendations to the respective boards of directors for consideration. Upon approval, the board then took these recommendations to the representative assembly for member consideration and possible approval. Approved candidates are informed both in writing and by phone. The representative assembly approved Cathy Allen for the District 2 seat and Jim Tomasic for the at-large seat.

Recommended candidates can receive political action funding depending on requests and need and may also get the “Teacher Recommended” stickers to use throughout the campaign season. Both associations also support our recommended candidates in advertising and at the polls, as requested.

If you need to contact the association office with any questions, please call Jennifer Tidd at 301-737-2500, ext. 300, or email her at If you have questions about the process, please contact Anna Laughlin at

We look forward to a lively election season and we encourage everyone to vote in the April 3 primary.

Anna Laughlin and Melissa Kiernan, California

The writers are co-chairs of the EASMC/CEASMC Legislative Steering Committee.