Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

The Calvert County Board of County Commissioners unanimously voted to keep the current tax differential for the towns of North Beach and Chesapeake Beach at its regular meeting on Tuesday.

Each spring, the board meets with the town mayors to discuss the differential. On Tuesday, Mayor Mark Frazer attended on behalf of North Beach, and Chesapeake Beach Town Manager Jim Parran represented Mayor Bruce Wahl.

The county’s tax rate for real property is $0.892 per $100 of assessed value and the tax differential is currently $0.336, bringing the county tax rate in the two towns to $0.556 per $100 of assessed value. Combined with each town’s respective property tax rate, the total tax rate for North Beach is $1.186 per $100 of assessed value and the total for Chesapeake Beach is $0.926.

The tax rate for property owners outside the two incorporated towns will remain at $0.892 per $100 of assessed value.

At the commissioners’ approval, these rates will be used in the upcoming tax billing for fiscal 2012 in July.

“That’s perfectly acceptable to the Town of North Beach,” Frazer said.

“It’s perfectly acceptable to the Town of Chesapeake Beach, too,” Parran said, adding, “We haven’t raised taxes in years.”

“We also have no desire to create any taxes,” Commissioner Evan Slaughenhoupt (R) said.

Commissioners’ President Gerald W. “Jerry” Clark (R) said, “The towns continue to grow and really look beautiful,” and Commissioner Susan Shaw (R) said she never hears any problems from town residents.

“We have a system with the towns that seems to be working very well,” she said.