Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

The Enterprise is among the top 10 winning nondaily newspapers in an annual journalism contest that included entries from across North America.

The Enterprise won seven awards in the Local Media Association 2011 Editorial Contest, the press association announced in March.

A first place award went to The Enterprise for best coverage of local education, which was judged by education content in three sample editions of The Enterprise. The coverage featured stories by Jesse Yeatman, education reporter, and also included editorials by Rick Boyd, sports coverage, honor rolls, photos and community news related to education.

A first place award also went to The Enterprise for best feature series for stories appearing under the label “The county cooks,” by Susan Craton, community editor. The ongoing series features area cooks and recipes.

The Enterprise won second place honors for best front page, which judged three sample front page designs created by Boyd and by Donnie Morgan, managing editor.

John Wharton, crime reporter, won second place for best news photo for his photograph of volunteer firefighters battling a house fire last summer.

Reid Silverman, staff photographer, won third place in the best photojournalism category for a series of photos he took last summer of soldiers saying goodbye to their loved ones before leaving for training and then deployment overseas.

The Enterprise also won a third place award for best local election coverage for Wharton’s series of stories and Boyd’s editorials related to John Mattingly’s run for state’s attorney against Rick Fritz.

Boyd also won an honorable mention in the best editorial writing category, in which judges considered three sample editorials written during the contest period.

The contest was judged by the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University and sponsored by the Local Media Association, formerly called Suburban Newspapers of America. The contest includes thousands of entries, the press association said in a statement. This contest recognizes editorial excellence in six different circulation classes in daily and nondaily newspapers.