Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

The 2012 Nominating Committee for Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative met May 19 and chose candidates for the five available seats up for election on SMECO’s board of directors.

Those nominated are:

Calvert County Samuel “Jack” Hammett.

Charles County Fern G. Brown, Kenneth L. Dyson, Janet K. Gummere and Doris M. Makle.

St. Mary’s County Walter Rayner Blair III and William R. Cullins III.

In addition to nominations made by the committee, any 15 or more SMECO members acting together may make other nominations by petition. SMECO customer-members running by petition also should complete and submit an application. To obtain a candidate application and petition, contact Lisa Oliver at 301-274-4489 or

Applications and petitions must be submitted or mailed to SMECO, Attention: Joseph Densford, board attorney, 15045 Burnt Store Road, P.O. Box 1937, Hughesville, MD 20637 by 4 p.m. June 22.

Customer-members will elect five directors to serve three-year terms by voting for one seat in Calvert County, two seats in Charles County and two seats in St. Mary’s County. No seats are up for election in Prince George’s County.

Members may vote at SMECO’s annual members’ meeting Aug. 23 at Regency Furniture Stadium in Waldorf.

Absentee mail-in ballots also are available to members who wish to vote but cannot attend the meeting. To request an absentee mail-in ballot, call 888-440-3311, ext. 4722, or go to

Requests for absentee ballots must be made by 4 p.m. Aug. 14.