Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

The Greater Waldorf Jaycees and the College of Southern Maryland Foundation, in a ceremony May 23 at the Jaycees center in Waldorf, awarded 40 incoming freshmen and 13 returning sophomores from Charles County scholarships totaling $87,000.

In addition, a scholarship was given to the outgoing student with the highest GPA, Michael Rhoades, of Waldorf.

In the past 12 years, the Jaycees have funded more than 220 scholarships through the CSM Foundation.

CSM President Brad Gottfried told students and guests that attending the Jaycees’ annual reception is one of the favorite parts of his job because it allows him to meet talented students who are Southern Maryland’s future leaders, teachers, engineers and scientists.

“In a recent report from the Pew Research Center, 71 percent of adults said that it’s harder for today’s young people to pay for college then it was for their parents’ generation. This is a major reason why our partnership with the Greater Waldorf Jaycees is crucial,” Gottfried said in a news release.

“We recognize that many of you have stayed focused despite various challenges and obstacles. It is because of your drive that the CSM Foundation and the Greater Waldorf Jaycees are here to support you and this community,” CSM Foundation Chairman Jay Lilly told scholarship recipients, according to the release.

The 2012-13 Greater Waldorf Jaycees Scholarship recipients are Alicia Ahl, Hailey Allen, Felix Bailey, Kimberly Bailey, Alexandra Bush, Morgan Butler, Adam Chambers, Ashley Chavis, Dustin Cox, Carley Flowers, Le’Sasha Fogle, Kelly Foye, Carlos Greenwood, Monique Harrison, Rabbia Hasan, Jennifer Hayden, Amber-Joy Heffner, William Hennessy, Lauren Kogok, Deion Lamberth, Anthony Lloyd, Rachel Manning, Ayana McWillis, Jessica Morales, Amber Nelson, Haley Nimmerrichter, Richard Pickeral, Donald Poole III, Asia Portlock, Asia Marie Provitt, Lashawn Queen, Aarogya Rana, Sabria Richardson, Kevin Rudaski, Daisy Smith, Rebecca Stone, Erica Swann, Brandi Thomas, Megan Tzafaroglou and Dominique Wilson.

The 2012-13 Greater Waldorf Jaycees Scholarship renewals are Jason Brown, Ashley Chappell, Fredrika Chase, Olivia Davis, Debra Dewaters, Marilyn Estoque, Lorenzo High, Nicolette Jenkins, Victoria Jenkins, Sybille Moussi, Andreaa Phillips, Paul Romero and Jordan Zeitler.

For information, or to apply or donate to scholarships, go to