Jarboe plans a run for state Senate -- Gazette.Net


St. Mary’s County Commissioner Larry Jarboe (R), said last week that he will make a run for state Senate in 2014, aiming at the seat held by Sen. Roy P. Dyson (D-St. Mary’s, Calvert, Charles).

Jarboe cannot seek re-election as county commissioner because of term limits.

Jarboe’s announcement came as the St. Mary’s commissioners talked about their political aspirations for 2014 during a state-of-the-county luncheon Sept. 25.

Jarboe, 59, is serving his fourth term as county commissioner, representing northern St. Mary’s. He was first elected in 1994 but lost the 1998 election. He won in 2002 and is on his third straight term, the most allowed for a St. Mary’s County commissioner under state law.

With four terms, Jarboe is the longest-serving commissioner in St. Mary’s since 1885. J. Hillery Parsons, a former Confederate, won six straight elections, serving 21 years in office.

“It’s been the greatest honor in my lifetime to serve four terms as your county commissioner,” Jarboe said. “It’s absolutely a gift you’ve given me.”

He said he supports term limits and that they should apply to state and federal lawmakers, too. However, “I’m looking forward to doing a run for state Senate” in 2014. He said he’s looking for a campaign treasurer.

Dyson has held the state Senate job since Jan. 11, 1995, according to the Maryland Manual. He was first elected to the Maryland House of Delegates in 1974 and was a U.S. congressman during the 1980s.

Dyson could not be reached for comment.