Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

After voting closed at 8 p.m. in Calvert County, unofficial results reflect that the Calvert County Board of Education will welcome two new faces to the board, and the Chesapeake Beach Town Council will see two new members as well.

These are the unofficial results from the Calvert County Board of Elections with 88.89 percent of the votes in. Of the 2,803 absentee ballots issued, 2,026 have been returned as of Tuesday night, according to the board of elections. The number of provisional ballots has not been determined yet by the board of elections.There are 58,864 registered voters in Calvert County as of Tuesday, with about 72.19 percent voting in this election.

BOE: Chenelly takes District 1, McConkey defeats Crunkleton

For the Calvert County Board of Education, Joe Chenelly was elected against Clifton Savoy for District 1 with 18,806 votes or 54.59 percent. Bill Chambers, the incumbent, did not seek re-election.

Tracy McGuire was re-elected with 31,626 votes or 99.29 percent, against 225 write-in votes for District 2.

Challenger Kelly McConkey was elected against incumbent and current board of education president Rose Crunkleton for District 3 with 19,310 votes or 53.57 percent.

Four return, one exits from Chesapeake Beach Town Council

In Chesapeake Beach, Mayor Bruce Wahl, who ran unopposed in the election, received 1,387 votes.

Four incumbents were elected to continue serving on the town council. Pat Mahoney received 985 votes, Valerie Beaudin received 890 votes, Bob Carpenter received 850 votes and Stewart Cumbo received 854 votes.

Two new candidates were elected to serve as one of the six town council members. Candidate Jeff Krahling received the most votes, with 1,101, of any candidate, and candidate Eric Reinhardt received 878 votes.

One incumbent, Julie Spano, was not re-elected to the council, with 828 votes. Other candidates not elected to the council are Wes Donovan, with 740 votes, Frank Purdy, with 604 votes, Jeffrey LaBar, with 481 votes, David Hemdry, with 473 votes, and Gail Harris, with 460 votes.

Hoyer wins, Cardin loses in Calvert

For Congressional District 5, incumbent Steny H. Hoyer beat Tony O’Donnell with 20,338 votes, or 49.37 percent.

Daniel Bongino beat Ben Cardin and Rob Sobhani for the United States Senate with 16,057 votes, or 39.28 percent.

Romney the clear winner in Calvert

Presidential candidate Mitt Romney took in 22,413 votes, or 52.9 percent of the vote over incumbent President Barack Obama.

Detailed, unofficial election results with analysis and reactions will appear in Friday’s print edition of The Calvert Recorder.