Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

The Miss Tranquility and Lord Calvert Contest Committee 2012 would like to thank the following businesses, organizations and individuals for their generous contributions: contributions to the Miss Tranquility and Lord Calvert Scholarship — Rosedale Attractions, and for the Scholarship for 1st Place Miss Tranquility and 1st Place Lord Calvert — HELP Association Inc.; PNC Bank; flowers by Floral Expressions and Garner & Duff Flower & Gift Shop; programs by Smith Printing Inc.; a proclamation by Calvert County Board of County Commissioners; contestant certificates and certificate holders by A&W Insurance Service Inc.; tiara by G&H Jewelers; judges’ gifts by Calvert County Department of Economic Development; cupcakes by Jill’s Cakes; contestants’ gifts by Blair’s Jewelry and Gifts, Calvert County Department Of Economic Development, Calvert County Fair Inc., Glascock & Meenan Insurance Agency Inc., Sneade’s Ace Home Center and Rotary Club of Prince Frederick; official photographer Cindy Horsmon; supplies and copies by Flag Harbor Condo Association; escort Cadet Lt. Brian H. Freedman; emcee Jeffrey Phelps; and judges Kenny Dyson, Fern Brown, Trish Willhelm and Pam Enrico.

We had 24 contestants in this contest. Miss Sarah Bryner, sponsored by Girl Scout Troop 2552, was chosen as Miss Tranquility 2012 and crowned Sept. 23. Her court was made up of Hannah-Catherine Smith, sponsored by Calvert Grace Brethren Church, first runner-up; Madeleine Buckley, sponsored by Calvert Arundel Pharmacy, second runner-up; Taylor Garner, sponsored by Calvert County 4-H All Stars; Olivia Hartsfield, sponsored by Cliff and Sheryl Hartsfield; Sarah Manning, sponsored by Calvert County Farm Bureau; Jessica Norwood, sponsored by Pets on Wheels; Amanda Ortitz, sponsored by Mary Kay Cosmetics/Cynthia Bliss; Halley Patterson, sponsored by Patuxent High School NJROTC; Anna Nicole Ponkka, sponsored by Vesa and Kim Ponkka; Victoria Savage, sponsored by Wood Working by Design; Bronte Schmidt, sponsored by CD Café; Jessica Ward, sponsored by Cathy Bowen and Ed Piernik; Jasmine Weems, sponsored by Calvert County Public Schools Maintenance and Operations; Brooke Whitney, sponsored by Prince Frederick Ford; and Emily Watson, sponsored by Bowen’s Grocery.

Edward Town, sponsored by Jesus the Divine Word Parish, was chosen as Lord Calvert. His court was made up of first runner-up Tyler Michael, sponsored by K Conway Physical Therapy Inc.; second runner-up Stefan Miller, sponsored by MJTA Statistician; Seth Bearjar, sponsored by Patuxent High School; Gregory Barrett Kelly, sponsored by; Josiah Manning, sponsored by Calvert County 4-H All Stars; Tyler Sullivan, sponsored by Patuxent Farm; and Jared Williams, sponsored by the Williams family.

Announcements were made throughout the fair thanking the contributors for their help with the Miss Tranquility and Lord Calvert Scholarship Contest 2012, and the names were in the program for the contest.

Thanks again to all the contributors and sponsors. The Miss Tranquility and Lord Calvert Scholarship Contest 2012 would not be successful without your help and support. We could not have done it without you.

Nancy W. Zinn, St. Leonard

The writer is the treasurer of the Miss Tranquility and Lord Calvert Contest Committee.