Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

County First Bank sponsored its 23rd annual George B. Morris Art Show for third- and fourth-grade students at elementary schools all over Charles County, hosted this year by Mary B. Neal Elementary School in Waldorf.

There were two divisions, for Waldorf and La Plata.

In the Waldorf division, Daniel of St. Thomas Jenifer Elementary School took home the grand prize, and the show prize went to Mary B. Neal Elementary School. C. Paul Barnhart Elementary School, Berry Elementary School, William A. Diggs Elementary School, Grace Christian Academy, Malcolm Elementary School, Arthur H. Middleton Elementary School, Dr. Samuel A. Mudd Elementary School, J.P. Ryon Elementary School, St. Peterís Church School and William B Wade Elementary School also participated.

Best of Show for Waldorf was awarded to Jenifer student Janae Jackson. Barnhart student Leanna Mascaga won Most Traditional, Neal student Nicholas Delpesche won Most Creative, Jenifer student Emma Foraci won Most Original and Diggs student Kamai Williams won Most Contemporary.

First place ribbons were awarded to Vondel Butler of Barnhart, Kieron Best of Berry, Jordan Johnson of Diggs, Atalana Distefano of Grace Christian, Kielin Huff of Jenifer, Karter Robinson of Malcolm, Jacob Kennedy of Middleton, Synai Ferrell of Mudd, Jade Miles of Neal, Madison Campbell of Ryon, Catherine Furtado of St. Peterís and Myles Scott of Wade.

Second place was given to Sandra Tran of Barnhart, Danae Ward of Berry, Marissa Lassiter of Diggs, Karla Wyatt of Grace Christian, Ajani Witherspoon of Jenifer, Cameron Edelen of Malcolm, Kenndi Triplett of Middleton, Jonathan Bryce Powell of Mudd, Hanna Vance of Neak, Jair Guillen of Ryon, Raquel Rawlins of St. Peterís and Austin Scott of Wade.

Third place was awarded to Rachel Neaves of Barnhart, Trinity Fox of Berry, Joey Martin of Diggs, Lauren Jones of Grace Christian, Cherish Poole of Jenifer, Kendra Defilippo of Malcolm, Kaitlyn Gibbs of Middleton, Shannon Austria of Mudd, Taylor Jackson of Neal, Tyler Nancarrow of Ryon, Autumn Murphy of St. Peterís and Madyson Staley of Wade.

For the La Plata show, the grand prize was awarded to Walter J. Mitchell Elementary School and the show prize to Dr. James Craik Elementary School. Gale-Bailey Elementary School, Grace Lutheran School, Dr. Thomas Higdon Elementary School, Indian Head Elementary School, T.C. Martin Elementary School, Mary H. Matula Elementary School, Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy Elementary School, J.C. Parks Elementary School and St. Maryís School also participated.

Parks student Storm Taylor won Best of Show. Most Traditional was given to Mitchell student Ethan Kumbar, Most Creative to Higdon student Landon Jewell, Most Original to Craik student Tyler Moniz and Most Contemporary to Gale-Bailey student Jasymn Simmons.

First place went to Jordan Ball of Craik, Lea Brown of Gale-Bailey, Anthony Bartolomeo of Grace Lutheran, Joshua Caraway of Higdon, Mallory Tipton of Indian Head, Ryann Brown of T.C. Martin, Bethany Holder of Matula, Ryan Kluh of Walter Mitchell, Emma Shumpert of Mt. Hope/Nanjemoy, Ameera Mahdi of Parks and Erika Quenano of St. Maryís.

Second place was given to Lydia Waddell of Craik, Christina Walker of Gale-Bailey, Kristen Ging of Grace Lutheran, Lacie Hardesty of Higdon, Ana Sanchez of Indian Head, Sydney Johnson of T.C. Martin, Abigail Kraft of Matula, Makalya Metz of Mitchell, Kayla Hall of Mount Hope/Nanjemoy, Marshe Canada of Parks and Ajay Hill of St. Maryís.

Third place was awarded to Robert Lindsey of Craik, Fadell Washington of Gale-Bailey, Jayden Rymenams of Grace Lutheran, Tessa Everett of Higdon, Ryleigh Strader of Indian Head, Jamie Roberts of T.C. Martin, Liliana Adamo of Matula, Madison McClure of Mitchell, Jimmy Tippett of Mount Hope/Nanjemoy, Sophia Schools of Parks and Anyia Kendall of St. Maryís.

Entries were judged by Donna Carpentieri, Bryan Harrison and Jenn Doucette Smith.