Students to experience state legislature while working as pages -- Gazette.Net


Fourteen Montgomery County students will get to see their state lawmakers in action while serving as student pages in the Senate and the House of Delegates during the annual session of the Maryland General Assembly beginning Jan. 9, 2013.

Ancha Jaiteh, Matthew Mai and Hassanatu Savage of Paint Branch High School, Burtonsville; Jodi Callwood of Takoma Academy, Takoma Park; Keirsten Lee of Winston Churchill High School, Potomac; Victoria Donnelly and Patrik Omelka of Damascus High School; Joshua Studley of Northwest High School, Germantown; Aryn Frazier of James Hubert Blake High School, Silver Spring; Parth Desai of Clarksburg High School; Jonathan Reizes of Watkins Mill High School, Montgomery Village; Alice Xie of Poolesville High School, Carolyn Kidd of Col. Zadok Magruder High School, Rockville, and one student who did not want to be named, were selected for the program.

Based on population, Montgomery County is entitled to 14 pages and 4 alternates, according to Jane Hudiburg, page coordinator, Maryland General Assembly Department of Legislative Services .

The Student Page Program is open to Maryland high school seniors. Each year 105 pages and 36 alternates are selected from across the state. Selection is done through the local school systems.

Pages serve two nonconsecutive weeks in either the House of Delegates or the Senate during the 13-week session, which runs from the second week in January to early April. Each page serves one week during the first eight weeks and returns for a second week during the last five.

Duties of the pages revolve around the schedule of the chamber to which they are assigned. Whenever their assigned chamber is in session, pages must be present.

Each page is paid a stipend of $55 per day worked to cover expenses. Lodging and meals must be paid by the page, however, lodging is arranged by the Page Office for all pages from outside Anne Arundel County who request it.

For more information on applying for the program for 2014, students should contact their school counselor.