Three science teachers named academy fellows -- Gazette.Net


Three Prince George's County Public Schools science teachers have been selected as fellows in the New Science Teacher Academy, according to school officials.

Olukayode Banmeke of DuVal High School in Lanham, Laurie Johnson of Dwight Eisenhower Middle School in Laurel and Eliza Varner of Dr. Henry Wise Jr. High School in Upper Marlboro have been selected as academy fellows.

They will join 241 other science teachers from across the nation in participating in a year-long professional development program designed to promote and improve science instruction.

NSTA is a nonprofit, Arlington, Va.-based organization that provides professional development and instructional resources to science teachers, and is funded in part through corporate partnerships.

“This is such a prestigious honor and I congratulate the teachers selected to participate in this fellowship program,” Interim Superintendent Alvin Crawley said in a statement. “They represent the finest of science teachers here in Prince George's County Public Schools and I hope that this opportunity will allow them to share their experiences and expertise with their colleagues as we continue to raise student achievement.”