Gaithersburg police officers recognized -- Gazette.Net


The Gaithersburg Police Department has announced its 2012 Officer of the Year.

Officer Gregg Johannesen was selected for his dependability and outstanding work ethic. Johannesen led the department in traffic enforcement and citizen contacts. He issued 1,299 citations, 889 warnings and made 78 DUI arrests in 2012.

Johannesen was named Officer of the Month in May, June, July and November of 2012.

Two sergeants were selected as 2012 Supervisors of the Year. Shawn Eastman, of the Special Operations Bureau, and Chris Vance of the Operations Bureau were chosen by their peers for the award.

Eastman led the Gaithersburg Police Street Crimes Unit. Under his leadership, the Street Crimes Unit increased felony and Part I offense arrests by more than 100 percent in 2012.

Vance has been a lead sergeant of the department’s Field Training Program and has led the development of a Supervisor Mentoring Program. He has put many hours into developing the Taser program and making it more successful through advanced training and lesson plans.