Runoff for mayor planned in Glenarden -- Gazette.Net


Glenarden will be facing a runoff election for mayor in the next 30 days, since none of the candidates garnered 50 percent of the vote, as required by the city charter.

City Council President Margaret Dade received 119 votes, former councilman Dennis Smith received 221 votes, former councilman Verley Wilson received 112 votes and newcomer Demetrius Bowers received 40 votes.

Because no one candidate received more than 50 percent of the votes, a runoff election between the top two vote-getters is required, said Council Clerk M. Toni Taylor. A runoff election must be held within 30 days, but the date had not yet been scheduled as of Tuesday, she said.

There are seven council seats in Glenarden; two seats each in Wards 1 and 2, one Ward 3 seat and two at-large seats. Candidates ran unopposed in all council elections except Ward 1, where three candidates vied for the two open seats.

In the race for two Ward 1 seats, incumbents Carolyn Smallwood (136 votes) and James Herring (120 votes) edged out former mayor Donjuan Williams (90 votes).

Incumbent Elaine Carter and former councilwoman Deborah Eason won the two Ward 2 seats unopposed, incumbent Jennifer Jenkins won the Ward 3 seat, and incumbent Maxine Phifer and newcomer Judy Diggs won the at-large seats.

Smith, who served on the council from 1979 to 1983, said that if he is elected, he will make sure the city is on a good financial footing, and ensure the city’s public safety and recreation programs remain strong.

“I’ll also look at increasing recreation and after-school programs for our kids,” said Smith, who teaches government contracting and proposal writing at Prince George’s Community College.

Smith also served as director of Prince George’s County’s minority business office from 1984 to 2004.

Dade, who served on the council from 2003 to 2007 and from 2009 to the present, said she hopes to advance city efforts currently under way.

“If elected, my plans are to keep the city moving forward with the many projects we’ve initiated or are completing,” Dade said, citing the planned city veterans memorial, installation of a new elevator at City Hall, work on the playground at the Martin Luther King Jr. Community Center and energy efficiency initiatives.

Dade is a retired federal employee who serves as a board member of the Prince George’s County Municipal Association and has served as council chairwoman for four years.

Current Mayor Gail Carter, having served three consecutive two-year terms, was term limited and could not seek re-election.

Elected officials will be sworn into their new term of office during the council’s June 10 meeting.