Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

Thomas F. McKay (R) said this week he will run for the House of Delegates seat representing northern St. Mary’s County currently held by Del. John F. Wood Jr. (D).

Wood announced he would not seek re-election this year after serving as delegate for nearly three decades.

McKay of Hollywood served as county commission president for one term from 2002 to 2006. He ran unsuccessfully in 2006 for the Maryland Senate against Sen. Roy Dyson (D-St. Mary’s, Calvert, Charles). Then in 2010 McKay tried to regain his seat as commission president but narrowly lost to Jack Russell (D).

McKay said in a statement Wednesday morning he would seek the Republican nomination for District 29A and that, if elected, he would bring public service experience as well as business and finance leadership to the post.

McKay is the president and chief operating officer of McKay’s Food Store and is publisher for Southern Maryland Publishing, which includes the County Times newspaper.

In the statement, McKay said he intends to follow in the footsteps of Wood in focusing on constituent service.

“I believe the people of this district take their representation seriously,” McKay said in his written statement. “My years doing business in this community and providing representation through the Commissioner’s office has demonstrated my ability to listen to the citizens and act in their collective best interest.”

Legislative district lines were redrawn after the 2010 census and a small section of Charles County was eliminated from District 29A, which includes northern St. Mary’s County. The new district boundaries will go into effect for the first time during this year’s elections.

Matt Morgan, 40, and Bryan “Puff” Barthelme, 62, both of Mechanicsville, earlier filed as Republicans for House of Delegates seat and McKay will face both of them in the June 24 primary election.

Daniel Slade, 40, of Leonardtown is so far the only Democrat to file for the District 29A seat.

The filing deadline for candidates is Feb. 25.