Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

LAUREL — After finishing the regular season 12-0 and winning titles at the Southern Maryland Athletic Conference championships, the Leonardtown Raiders boys and girls swimming teams kept the winning ways going Monday by sweeping the Class 4A-3A South Region swim championships at the Fairland Aquatic Center.

The event, which was postponed on Saturday and made up Monday, also featured the Great Mills Hornets and Chopticon Braves.

The Leonardtown boys earned first place with 376 points, edging out Eleanor Roosevelt of Prince George’s County by two points. Great Mills placed fifth overall with 203 one spot ahead of Chopticon with 156 points.

On the girls side, Leonardtown won the title with 347 points, 18 better than Eleanor Roosevelt, while the Hornets placed third with 303. Chopticon placed seventh overall with 159 points.

Two Raiders girls finished with individual regional titles with seniors Michelle Wood winning the 200-yard freestyle and Rachel Aaron winning the 500 free.

Wood was also part of the 200 free relay team that won regional gold.

On the boys side, sophomore Jack Lawrence swam to gold in the 500 free and junior Caleb Kaslik won gold in the 100 breaststroke.

The Leonardtown boys swept the relays with gold-medal races in the 200 medley, 200 free and 400 free relay races.

The Leonardtown girls also qualified all three of their relay teams for the state championships with the 200 free relay the sole gold-medal performance.

In total, the Raiders boys and girls each qualified for 10 individual spots for the state championships, scheduled to be held at the University of Maryland’s Eppley Recreation Center at 10 a.m. Saturday.

The Hornets girls qualified all three of their relay teams for the state event and one boys relay team for the state competition, that being their 400 free relay team

The Hornets also qualified an individual for the girls 100 breast with a third-place finish from junior Emily Morris.

Automatic qualifications were given for the top three finishers in each race and 12 other spots will be awarded based on fastest times, to be determined.