Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

Candidates for the 2014 elections in St. Mary’s filed by Tuesday’s deadline, resulting in just three locally contested races for the June 24 primary. Republicans will pick their nominees for Maryland Senate and a House of Delegates post representing the northern part of the county. All voters can help choose nominees for a school board seat.

And two elected officials face no opposition at all in this year’s balloting.

Sheriff Tim Cameron (R) is uncontested for a third consecutive term, as he was four years ago. The 2010 election was the first time in at least 84 years that a sheriff went unchallenged on the ballot in St. Mary’s County. County Commissioner Todd Morgan (R) is also without an opponent for a second term.

The St. Mary’s County Democratic Central Committee could appoint people to fill their party’s spot on the November ballot for those two jobs. But unless that happens by March 3 it is a certainty that Cameron and Morgan will be re-elected.

The rest of the candidates for local elected offices move on to November’s general election because they face no primary challenge.

Sen. Roy Dyson (D) is unopposed by his party’s nomination for another term in District 29, which includes St. Mary’s and southern Calvert counties. But there are three Republicans — Steve Waugh of Lusby, St. Mary’s County Commissioner Cindy Jones and St. Mary’s County Commissioner Larry Jarboe, seeking the GOP nomination to challenge him in the fall.

There also are three Republicans running in the primary for the job being vacated by Del. John F. Wood Jr.(D): Bryan “Puff” Barthelme of Mechanicsville; Thomas “Tommy” McKay of Hollywood, former president of the St. Mary’s County commissioners; and Matt Morgan of Charlotte Hall. Democrat Daniel A.M. Slade of Leonardtown will be unopposed in the primary.

There are three candidates for a school board job being vacated by Sal Raspa. Randy Darnowsky of Great Mills, John Alonzo Gaskin of Dameron and Rita Weaver of Dameron seek to represent southern St. Mary’s. School board members run without party affiliation and the top two vote-getters in the June primary will move on to the general election.

St. Mary’s County Treasurer Jannette Norris (D) is stepping down at the end of this term. The contest among the three treasurer candidates will be determined at the general election in November.

Another school board seat has two candidates, both of whom move on to November.

There will be at least three new county commissioners elected this year because incumbents are not seeking re-election.

Voters in St. Mary’s County’s primary will help choose party nominees for governor and state attorney general. GOP voters in St. Mary’s can also help pick a challenger to Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-5th, Md.), who faces no primary opposition.

Who’s filed to run in St. Mary’s

State senator, District 29

Roy Dyson (D)*

Larry Jarboe (R)

Cindy Jones (R)

Steve Waugh (R)

State delegate, District 29A

Daniel A.M. Slade (D)

Bryan “Puff” Barthelme (R)

Thomas F. McKay (R)

Matt Morgan (R)

State delegate, District 29B

John Bohanan (D)*

Deb Ray (R)

State delegate, District 29C

Len Zuza (D)

Anthony J. O’Donnell (R)*

St. Mary’s County commission president

Francis Jack Russell (D)*

Randy Guy (R)

County commissioner, District 1

Merl Evans (D)

Tom Jarboe (R)

County commissioner, District 2

Bob Schaller (D)

Mike Hewitt (R)

County commissioner, District 3

Joseph “Tony” St. Clair (D)

John O’Connor (R)

County commissioner, District 4

Todd Morgan (R)*

State’s attorney

Shane Mattingly (D)

Richard Fritz (R)*


Tim Cameron (R)*


Carrie Swartz (D)

Christy Kelly (R)

Steve Gelrud (unaffiliated)

Clerk of circuit court

Joanie Williams (D)*

Register of wills

Lois Duke (D)*

Judges of orphans court

Linda Dean (D)*

Bill Mattingly (D)*

Albert “Allie” Babcock (R)

Michael White (R)

Dalton Wood Jr. (R)*

Board of education, District 1

Randy Darnowsky

John Alonzo Gaskin

Rita Weaver

Board of education, District 3

Karin Bailey

Brooke Matthews*

* — incumbent