Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

The field of candidates for the 2014 primary election is set following Tuesday’s filing deadline, and there is no shortage of storylines in Charles County’s commissioner and statehouse races.

Much of the intrigue can be credited to commissioners’ President Candice Quinn Kelly (D) and Del. Peter F. Murphy (D-Charles), whose simultaneous decisions to run for each other’s current post one month ago injected intrigue into both races.

Commissioners’ Vice President Reuben B. Collins II (D) announced last September he would seek the board’s presidency in 2014 and filed his candidacy one month later. About the same time, Kelly announced during a radio appearance that she would not seek re-election.

In a county where every elected office is held by a Democrat, Collins remained without a primary opponent for months. Meanwhile, his critics made it clear that Murphy was their dream candidate to oppose Collins, and speculation swirled that Murphy and Kelly — who’d long held interest in running for the statehouse — could ultimately try to swap positions.

The attempted switcheroo came to fruition in late January, with both Murphy and Kelly stating their decisions were contingent on the other not seeking re-election. Suddenly, new life had been given to seemingly ho-hum races for both commissioners’ president and state delegate — incumbent Dels. Sally Y. Jameson (D-Charles) and C.T. Wilson (D-Charles) had been the lone candidates for District 28’s three House seats since filing together in early November.

Whispers that former Commissioner Edith J. Patterson could join the delegates’ race cropped up immediately. She officially filed last week, setting up an indirect rematch between herself and Kelly, to whom Patterson lost in the 2010 primary by 114 votes.

Port Tobacco resident John Coller, a Waldorf-based real estate agent, entered the race as a Democrat one day after Kelly but does not enjoy the name recognition of his four primary opponents. Republican Jim Crawford filed as the GOP’s lone delegate candidate Tuesday.

Following Murphy’s entrance into the president’s race, La Plata resident Tom deSabla soon joined as a Republican candidate. He, too, will run unopposed in the June 24 primary.

The District 1 commissioner’s race has been slated for a rematch between Commissioner Ken Robinson (D) and former Commissioner Sam Graves since the latter filed for his old position in November. The then-incumbent Graves lost to Robinson in the 2010 primary by 162 votes.

Republican J.T. Crawford entered the race Tuesday and faces no competition in the primary.

In District 2, incumbent Commissioner Debra M. Davis (D) faces five primary opponents — Bryans Road residents Larreic “Larry” Green, Leya “Blondie” Davis and Mike Cassidy; Melanie B. Holland of Pomfret; and Johnnie DeGiorgi of Nanjemoy, a previous commissioners’ candidate. Republican Mike Bakir of Pomfret filed for the race Jan. 7 and does not face a contested primary.

District 4 incumbent Commissioner Bobby Rucci (D) will take on three fellow Democrats — the county’s former chief information officer Richard Allen Aldridge, 2010 commissioner candidate Vincent “Vinny” Ippolito and Waldorf resident Emmanuel Ogungbesan. Pomfret resident John Young filed Tuesday as District 4’s lone Republican candidate.

A potentially contentious primary race is set between Sheriff Rex Coffey (D) and Charles County Sheriff’s Office Lt. Troy Berry, who is suing Coffey on allegations that the sheriff shielded from internal investigations officers who supported his 2006 and 2010 campaigns.

Sen. Thomas “Mac” Middleton (D-Charles) faces no primary competition, while Allan Donnelly of Indian Head and Josh Castle of White Plains will face each other in the race’s Republican primary.

Charles County State’s Attorney Anthony B. Covington (D) currently is the only candidate running for his office.

The Charles County Republican Central Committee has until Monday to fill vacant slots for candidates in several local races, including state’s attorney and sheriff.

The primary election will be held June 24.

Who’s filed

Commissioners’ president


Reuben B. Collins II

Peter Murphy


Tom deSabla

Commissioner District 1


Sam Graves

Ken Robinson


J.T. Crawford

Commissioner District 2


Mike Cassidy

Debra Davis

Leya “Blondie” Davis

Johnnie DeGiorgi

Larreic “Larry” Green

Melanie B. Holland


Mike Bakir

Commissioner District 3


John Ashburn

Jim Easter

Amanda Stewart

Robert J. Taylor

Kamilah A. Way


Steve Mattingly

Commissioner District 4


Richard Allen Aldridge

Vincent “Vinny” Ippolito

Emmanuel Ogungbesan

Bobby Rucci


John Young

State’s attorney


Anthony “Tony” Covington

Clerk of the Circuit Court


J.V. Curry

Sharon “Sherri” Hancock

Register of wills


Loraine Davies Hennessy

Abena Y. McAllister

Judge of the orphans’ court


Lorraine Berry

Darlene Breck

Frank H. Lancaster

Janice Marie Talley


Brian L. Still



Troy Berry

Rex Coffey

Democratic Central Committee

Richard Allen Aldridge

Elvira Marie Barnes

Virginia Benedict

Gilbert Bowling

Thomasina “Sina” Coates

Albert B. Coleman

James M. Crites

Leya “Blondie” Davis

Linda C. Davis

Melissa Davis

Rosalind Ellis

Nigel O. Good

Kimberly A. Hay

Jason Henry Sr.

Craig Hickerson

Debra Dempsey Hobbs

Hans L. Holkon

Edward R. Joell

Scott Nicholas Moore

Nancy Jean Schertler

Alvin Stewart

Janice Marie Talley

Greg Waller

Russell Yates

Stephen Ziegler

Republican Central Committee

Collins A. Bailey

Dave Campbell

Chris Cherest

J.T. Crawford

Jim Crawford

Joe Crawford

Mark Crawford

Tom deSabla

Millie Havrilla

Lewis Frank McIntyre

Mike Phillips

Darrell Wood

Board of education

Jennifer S. Abell

Carl Blumenstein

Mark Crawford

Jocelyn Mann Denyer

Betsy Marie Eubanks

Lorina Harris

Jason Henry Sr.

Victoria “Vicki” Talley Kelly

Karla M. Kornegay

Michael “Mike” Lukas

Margaret T. Marshall

Virginia “Ginny” McGraw

Barbara Palko

Melissa Pascarella

Robert Michael Pitts

Derrick Terry

Marcus N. Tillman

Richard Wallace

Michael A. Wilson

Stephen Ziegler