Hewitt still leads commissioner candidates in cash -- Gazette.Net


Republican Mike Hewitt of Hollywood continues to lead all candidates for St. Mary’s County commissioners in campaign financing, according to reports updated this week.

All of the nine candidates running for St. Mary’s County commissioner get a pass through the June 24 primary election, as they face no opposition for the nomination of their party.

As of May 20, Hewitt had on hand $10,346 and he also raised the most contributions: $7,385 since January. Hewitt is running for the commissioner seat representing the Leonardtown and Hollywood areas, District 2. Incumbent Commissioner Dan Morris (R) is not seeking re-election. Hewitt’s opponent in November is Democrat Bob Schaller of Leonardtown. Schaller had $6,926 on hand this month.

There will be at least three new commissioners of the five-member board chosen in the general November election. Only one seat will be uncontested in November, that of Commissioner Todd Morgan (R), as no Democrat filed to run against him. Jack Russell (D), incumbent commission president, is seeking re-election.

Russell is running for a third straight term. His campaign had $8,435 available and raised $1,575 since January. His opponent in November is Republican Randy Guy of Clements, who also ran for commission president in 2010, but lost in the Republican primary. Guy had $1,010 total in campaign funds as of this month.

In District 3, representing northern St. Mary’s, Democrat Joseph “Tony” St. Clair had $6,138 on hand and raised $4,270 since January. St. Clair ran for commissioner in 2006 for the same seat. His opponent this year, Republican John O’Connor of Mechanicsville, filed an affidavit with the Maryland Board of Elections that his campaign had not raised more than $1,000.

Commissioner Larry Jarboe (R) is serving his third straight term and by local term limits cannot run for that seat this year. He instead is running in the Republican primary for Maryland Senate along with Commissioner Cindy Jones (R) and Republican Steve Waugh of Lusby.

Jones currently represents Commissioner District 1 — southern St. Mary’s. Republican candidate Tom Jarboe of St. Mary’s City raised $5,242 since January and had $4,855 on hand this month in the contest to replace her. Democrat Merl Evans of Tall Timbers raised $3,050 this year and had a $2,230 balance.

This is the first election since 1974 where there is no primary contest for any of the five commissioner seats.

The 1974 election brought back five commissioner seats to St. Mary’s. The board had had three St. Mary’s County commissioners since 1892, but five before that.