Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
E-mail this article
Print this Article

Rita Weaver and John Alonzo Gaskin were the top two vote-getters in Tuesday’s primary election to represent District 1 on the St. Mary’s school board, and the pair now advance to November’s general election.

Weaver and Gaskin, both of Dameron, easily edged out their opponent Randy Darnowsky, 26, of Great Mills, in a three-way primary race.

The two will now vie for the board of education seat currently held by Sal Raspa, who announced earlier this year he would not run again to represent the southern end of St. Mary’s County.

Weaver tallied 4,606 votes, Gaskin garnered 3,300 votes and Darnowsky collected 1,280 votes, according to the unofficial results Tuesday.

Weaver, 50, works as a registered nurse at a hospital in Charles County and as an adjunct professor with the College of Southern Maryland. She has one son in middle school and another who recently graduated from high school.

“I got the word out about what I felt needed to be done and what qualifications I have ... to fix up things, make things better,” Weaver said in a phone interview Tuesday night while celebrating her victory at the VFW in California. “I had a lot of support ... from friends, co-workers and especially family.”

Gaskin, 62, who was endorsed by the Education Association of St. Mary’s County, works as an electronics technician and has been in a civil service position for 40 years. Gaskin could not be reached for comment Tuesday.

Darnowsky moved to St. Mary’s County about three years ago and is an engineer at Patuxent River Naval Air Station.

“We made a difference, we took a stand saying people want change on the board of education,” Darnowsky said after Tuesday’s results were announced. He said his first bid for an elected seat was a great experience, but that now he is looking forward to enjoying the rest of the summer with friends and family.

The District 3 school board seat is also up for election this year. Karin Bailey of Mechanicsville will face incumbent Brooke Matthews of Chaptico in November’s general election.

The other three school board members — Cathy Allen, Marilyn Crosby and Mary Washington — were re-elected in 2012 to four-year terms. School board candidates run without party affiliation.