Brown, Hogan capture leads as first precincts report -- Gazette.Net


This story was updated at 10:05 p.m. June 24, 2014.

With 29 of Montgomery County’s 252 precincts reporting, Lt. Gov. Anthony Brown remained in the lead with 8,721 votes, or 50.03 percent of the votes cast, according to the Montgomery County Board of Elections reports.

Attorney General Douglas Gansler had 4,571 votes, or 26.22 percent. Del. Heather Mizeur with 3,872, or 22.21 percent, according to the board reports.

On the Republican side, former Ehrlich administration official Larry Hogan was in the lead with 818 votes, or 41.93 percent. Harford County Executive David Craig tallied 492 votes, or 25.22. Charles County businessman Charles Lollar had collected 383 votes, or 19.63 percent, and Del. Ronald George of Anne Arundel County had 258 votes, or 13.22 percent.

In the attorney general’s race, state Sen. Brian Frosh had a commanding lead in Montgomery County with 11,888 votes, or 70.80 percent. Del. Jon S. Cardin trailed with 3,138 votes, or 18.69 percent, and Del. Aisha Braveboy had 1,766 votes, or 10.52 percent.

County Executive Isiah Leggett solidly led the race for County Executive with 8,620 votes, almost double the 4.922 votes for Doug Duncan and 3,691 votes for Phil Andrews.

The four council incumbents — Marc B. Elrich, Hans Riemer, Nancy Floreen and George L. Leventhal — led the field in the council at large race with challengers Beth Daly and Vivian Malloy not far behind.

Councilman Roger Berliner held about 80 percent of the votes in the race for County Council District 1 over challenger Duchy Trachtenberg.

In the race for District 2, Councilman Craig Rice gained ground to about 79 percent of the votes in his district over challenger Neda Bolourian.

Gaithersburg Mayor Sidney Katz led the race for council District 3 over Tom Moore with Ryan Spiegel Tom Moore and Guled Kassim trailing behind.

Councilwoman Nancy Navarro is running unopposed for the District 4 seat.

In the race for the open District 5 seat, Del. Tom Hucker was barely edging out Evan Glass with 1,937 to 1,851 with 13 precincts reporting in the district. Terrill North, Christopher Barclay and Jeffrey Thames still trailed behind.

Former delegate Cheryl Kagan (D) of Rockville was leading the District 17 Senate race with 55.42 percent of the vote, while Del. Luiz R.S. Simmons (D), also of Rockville, followed with 44.58 percent.

In the District 17 House race, Del. Kumar P. Barve (D) of Gaithersburg was in front with 26.30 percent of the vote, with Del. James W. Gilchrist (D) of Rockville and Andrew Platt (D) of Gaithersburg drawing 20.54 and 20.40 percent, respectively.

Susan Hoffman (D) of Rockville followed with 18.85 percent, Laurie-Anne Sayles (D) of Gaithersburg had drawn 10.73 percent and George Zamora (D) of Gaithersburg had 3.18 percent.

In the District 16 Democratic Senate race, Del. Susan C. Lee collected more than 88 percent of early voting totals. In the Democratic House of Delegates race, incumbents C. William Frick and Ariana Kelly had 50 percent and 67 percent of the early voting totals, respectively, with challengers Marc Korman collecting 57 percent and Hrant Jamgochian 47 percent.

In the District 18 Democratic Senate race, incumbent Richard S. Madaleno Jr. led challenger Dana Beyer in early voting, 62 percent to 38 percent. In the House of Delegates race, incumbents Alfred C. Carr Jr., Ana Sol Gutierrez and Jeff Waldstreicher led after early voting, each with more than 50 percent of the vote.

Barbara H. Meiklejohn leads the race for clerk with 8,312 votes, followed by Alan Bowser with 5,053.

Incumbent Darren M. Popkin leads the race for sheriff with 8,963 votes, followed by Tom Falcinelli, Jr., with 4,239.

The race for the four judge positions in Judicial Circuit 6 is led by incumbents Joan E. Ryon, with 11,984 votes, Audrey A. Creighton, with 11,323, Gary E. Blair, with 10,196, and Nelson W. Rupp, Jr., with 10,160. Challenger Daniel P. Connell trails the four with just 7,443 votes.

In the race for an at-large seat on the Montgomery County Board of Education, Shebra Evans and Jill Ortman-Fouse are holding the one and two spots among the four candidates, with about 37.08 percent and 33.62 percent of the vote respectively.

Each incumbent U.S. congressman — Reps. John Sarbanes, John Delaney and Chris Van Hollen — is ahead in his party’s primary in his district today, according to early primary results and early voting.

In the District 3 race, Sarbanes is leading with 14,515 votes over Matthew Molyett, who has received 2,348 votes, for the Democratic nomination. Meanwhile Charles A. Long, at 1,551 votes, is edging out Thomas E. Harris, who has 1,500 votes, and Michael Jackson, who has 568 votes, among Republicans in District 3.

In District 6’s Republican race, Dan Bongino has a lead against Harold W. Painter Jr. with 6,269 votes to Painter’s 1,201.

In District 8, Van Hollen leads the Democrats with 12,444 votes, good for 90.7 percent, and is currently beating challengers George English, who has 856 votes, and Lih Young, with 414 votes.

In Montgomery County, 546 absentee ballots were requested for District 3, 1,411 ballots were requested in District 6, and 3,691 ballots were requested for District 8, as of 8:30 p.m. today.