Dr. Meena Brewster

Dr. Meena Brewster, health officer for St. Mary’s County.

The St. Mary’s County Health Department is the local arm of the Maryland State Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. Under the direction of Dr. Meena Brewster, the county’s health officer, the health department is responsible for protecting and promoting the health of the St. Mary’s County community.

Within the scope of its resources, the health department delivers a variety of services to the community based on the health needs of St. Mary’s and federal, state and county laws and regulations. In cooperation with state and county officials and other partners, it is the health department’s vision to improve the quality of life for residents in St. Mary’s. As the county’s leader in public health, the department is committed to assuring that residents have access to personal and environmental health services and information.

The department conducts operations through five internal divisions, each responsible for specific public health functions serving residents, businesses/organizations, and health care providers in St. Mary’s: administration division; division of health promotion and community services; division of public health preparedness and response; environmental health division; and behavioral health division.

The office is open Mondays through Fridays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., and is located at 21580 Peabody St. in Leonardtown.

For more information about the health department, including its many programs, call 301-475-4330, email smchd.healthdept@maryland.gov or visit www.smchd.org.