Contact Us

Connect with us:

Phone 301-764-2847

Fax 301-932-4059

Southern Maryland News (USPS-331-820) is published weekly on Fridays, except holidays, at 204 Washington Avenue La Plata, MD 20646 by APG Media of Chesapeake, LLC. For further details about APG, go to www.chespub.com.

La Plata office is open 9:00 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday. Offices in Prince Frederick and California are by appointment only.

Mailing address: Southern Maryland News, 204 Washington Avenue La Plata, MD 20646

Follow us:

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/SouthernMDNews

Twitter @SoMdNews

Editorial

Executive Editor: Eli Wohlenhaus
ewohlenhaus@somdnews.com
240-801-2258

Associate Editor: Jesse Yeatman
jyeatman@somdnews.com
301-866-6454

Community Coordinator: Michael Reid
mreid@somdnews.com
240-561-0427

Sports reporter: Ted Black
tblack@somdnews.com
240-585-2357

St. Mary's County reporter: Dan Belson
dbelson@somdnews.com
240-801-2246

Charles County reporter: Caleb M. Soptlean
csoptelean@somdnews.com
240-801-2240

Education reporter: Madison Bateman
mbateman@somdnews.com
240-346-0940

Calvert County reporter: Marty Madden
mmadden@somdnews.com
240-561-1485

Letters to the Editor

Southern Maryland News welcomes letters to the editor from our readers. Letters must include the writer’s name, address and telephone number. The phone number will not be published; it is for verification purposes only. We reserve the right to edit or reject all letters and each submission has a 600-word limit. The opinions expressed in letters and submissions are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of Southern Maryland News. All rights reserved. Please email letters to letters@somdnews.com with “Letter to the Editor” in the subject line.

All other submissions

community@somdnews.com

Subscriber and Delivery Services

301-645-8945
subscribe@chespub.com

Advertising

Brook Ash

bash@chespub.com

240-561-1390

Classifieds

classads@chespub.com
1-888-431-3122

Legal / Public Notices
legals@chespub.com
1-877-659-2190

Obituaries
How to place an obituary

Deadlines

Retail Advertising: Tuesday 5 p.m.

Legal advertising: Tuesday, 3 p.m.

Classified advertising: Tuesday 5 p.m.

Editorial submissions: Tuesday, 4 p.m.

Obituaries: Wednesday, 11 a.m.

 

Members: MDDC Press Assoc., Inland Press Assoc., LMNA, & AFCP

Periodicals postage paid at Waldorf, MD 20695 and additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send address changes to The Maryland Independent, P.O. Box 600, Easton, MD 21601.

Management

Regional President: Jim Normandin
jim.normandin@adamspg.com

Director of Circulation and Audience: Doug McAvoy
dmcavoy@chespub.com

Regional IT & Pagination Director: David Alltop
dalltop@chespub.com

Regional HR Director: Tom Cloutier
tcloutier@chespub.com